Proceedings.

Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended (the "BIA") and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43, as amended
File
CV-26-00000373-0000
Filings held8
Last activity15 Sep 2026
On the record6 days
Secured debt$6.47M
OverviewSummary updated

Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd. are in court-appointed receivership in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, with Grant Thornton Limited appointed receiver and manager under s. 243(1) of the BIA and s. 101 of the Courts of Justice Act (file CV-26-00000373-0000). The proceeding was commenced August 6, 2026 on the application of Kevin Drexler Holdings Inc., assignee of Mitsubishi HC Capital Canada Inc. security since November 8, 2024, which issued a demand and a notice under s. 244 of the BIA on July 7, 2026. Combined liabilities reported from the debtors' books total $13,154,765, including $6,473,394 of secured claims and $2,254,244 of CRA GST/HST, against which CRA has registered a Federal Court certificate and a lien on the Shop Property.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates8 dated entries
Parties

Debtor

Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.

Receiver

Doane Grant Thornton

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice ChownOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Sep 20263 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ApplicantThornton Grout Finnigan LLP15 Sep 2026Order · 15 Sep 2026
ApplicantKevin Drexler Holdings IncThornton Grout Finnigan LLP5 Aug 2026Application · 5 Aug 2026
CreditorKevin Drexler Holdings IncThornton Grout Finnigan LLP8 Sep 2026Factum · 8 Sep 2026
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · 4 named without a figure
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) · in 926 casesCertificate registered in Federal Court and a lien against the Shop Property — CRA has registered a certificate and lien in respect of outstanding GST/HST liabilities; classified separately from unsecured/priority CRA amounts reported in liabilities table; amount of the secured lien claim itself not separately quantified from the GST/HST aggregate of $2,254,244 reported at page 9 (deemed trust / regulatory-type claim) — debtor: Drexler Construction LimitedPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
4SecuredSecured Creditors (aggregate as reported) · in 35 casesas of the Pre-Filing Report (September 10, 2026) — Aggregate figure from Debtors' books and records summarized in liabilities table; individual creditor balances not broken out in this table (see KDH and Drexler note-holder entries above for named components, which are principal amounts not confirmed balances) — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.$6.47MPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
4SecuredJerome Frederick DrexlerGeneral Security Agreement dated May 13, 2025 over all present and after-acquired personal property (Drexler GSA) — Related party; principal amount of secured promissory note (2025 Notes), not confirmed as outstanding balance; part of aggregate 'Secured Creditors' figure of $6,473,394 reported at page 9 — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited · as of 13 May 2025$1.23MPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
4SecuredMartin DrexlerGeneral Security Agreement dated May 13, 2025 over all present and after-acquired personal property (Drexler GSA) — Related party; principal amount of secured promissory note (2025 Notes), not confirmed as outstanding balance; part of aggregate 'Secured Creditors' figure of $6,473,394 reported at page 9 — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited · as of 13 May 2025$581KPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
4SecuredKevin DrexlerGeneral Security Agreement dated May 13, 2025 over all present and after-acquired personal property (Drexler GSA) — Related party (director/principal); principal amount of secured promissory note (2025 Notes), not confirmed as outstanding balance; part of aggregate 'Secured Creditors' figure of $6,473,394 reported at page 9 — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited · as of 13 May 2025$333KPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
4SecuredJerome Michael DrexlerGeneral Security Agreement dated May 13, 2025 over all present and after-acquired personal property (Drexler GSA) — Related party; principal amount of secured promissory note (2025 Notes), not confirmed as outstanding balance; part of aggregate 'Secured Creditors' figure of $6,473,394 reported at page 9 — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited · as of 13 May 2025$310KPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
4SecuredJacob DrexlerGeneral Security Agreement dated May 13, 2025 over all present and after-acquired personal property (Drexler GSA) — Related party; principal amount of secured promissory note (2025 Notes), not confirmed as outstanding balance; part of aggregate 'Secured Creditors' figure of $6,473,394 reported at page 9 — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited · as of 13 May 2025$308KPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
4SecuredReciprocal Opportunities IncorporatedIdentified as 'a secured creditor of DCL' in report; no amount or security details stated — debtor: Drexler Construction LimitedPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
4SecuredKevin Drexler Holdings Inc. (KDH) (as assignee of Mitsubishi HC Capital Canada Inc.)General security agreement over all present and after-acquired personal property; mortgage over Shop Property; revolving credit facility up to maximum principal amount of $2,500,000 (facility limit, not balance); Guarantee from Corporate Guarantor — Assigned from MHCCA to KDH on November 8, 2024; demand issued and NOI under s.244 BIA issued July 7, 2026; part of aggregate 'Secured Creditors' figure of $6,473,394 reported in Pre-Filing Report at page 9 (component amount not broken out) — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited (with guarantee from Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.)Pre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
5PMSI / lessorsPPSA equipment financiers (PMSI class) · in 183 casesPurchase money security interests asserted on certain Equipment — Receiver aware certain creditors assert PMSIs on Equipment; interests to be reviewed/adjudicated; amounts not stated — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited / Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.Pre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
7Preferred (BIA s. 136)Priority Creditors (aggregate as reported) · in 2 casesas of the Pre-Filing Report (September 10, 2026) — Preferred/priority creditor class; includes municipal property tax arrears accruing since prior to 2023 per August 1, 2026 property tax statements reviewed; document names no individual creditors — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.$245KPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
8UnsecuredUnsecured creditors (aggregate as reported) · in 532 casesas of the Pre-Filing Report (September 10, 2026) — Document names no individual unsecured creditors — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.$4.11MPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
8UnsecuredCRA - GST/HST · in 10 casesas of the Pre-Filing Report (September 10, 2026) — Deemed trust / CRA quasi-governmental claim; CRA has also registered a certificate in Federal Court and a lien against the Shop Property in respect of this liability, giving it secured status against that property; accrual attributed partly to input tax credit accounting issues dating to 2021; Receiver intends to audit to confirm amounts — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.$2.25MPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
8UnsecuredCRA - Source Deductions · in 7 casesas of the Pre-Filing Report (September 10, 2026) — Deemed trust / CRA quasi-governmental claim; Receiver intends to arrange audits to confirm amounts outstanding — debtor: Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.$76.8KPre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total liabilities at filing$13.2M

per Unaudited books and records of the Debtors, summarized by the Private Receiver without audit, review or verification · Combined - Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd. (Debtors) — Total liabilities of $13,154,765 comprise Secured Creditors ($6,473,394), CRA-Source Deductions ($76,827), CRA-GST/HST ($2,254,244), Priority Creditors ($244,769), and Unsecured Creditors ($4,105,531); no total assets figure stated in the report; Equipment and Inventory reported separately at net-book value of approximately $1,800,000 (page 5) and Accounts Receivable book value of $2,023,572.80 as of September 1, 2026 (page 6), but no consolidated total assets figure given

Documents8 filings
DateDocumentFile
Endorsement of Justice Chown dated September 15, 2026.pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice Chown
PDF
Receivership Order dated September 15, 2026.pdf
  • Applicant Kevin Drexler Holdings Inc.
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 15 September 2026
  • + 7 more extracted facts
PDF
Pre-Filing Report of Grant Thornton Limited dated September 10, 2026.pdf
  • Financial position Liabilities $13.2M · per Unaudited books and records of the Debtors, summarized by the Private Receiver without audit, review or verification · Combined - Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd. (Debtors) — Total liabilities of $13,154,765 comprise Secured Creditors ($6,473,394), CRA-Source Deductions ($76,827), CRA-GST/HST ($2,254,244), Priority Creditors ($244,769), and Unsecured Creditors ($4,105,531); no total assets figure stated in the report; Equipment and Inventory reported separately at net-book value of approximately $1,800,000 (page 5) and Accounts Receivable book value of $2,023,572.80 as of September 1, 2026 (page 6), but no consolidated total assets figure given
  • Secured creditors $6.47M · Note: Aggregate figure from Debtors' books and records summarized in liabilities table; individual creditor balances not broken out in this table (see KDH and Drexler note-holder entries above for named components, which are principal amounts not confirmed balances) · Page: 9 · As of: as of the Pre-Filing Report (September 10, 2026) · Debtor: Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd. · Creditor: Secured Creditors (aggregate as reported)
  • Unsecured creditors $245K · Note: Preferred/priority creditor class; includes municipal property tax arrears accruing since prior to 2023 per August 1, 2026 property tax statements reviewed; document names no individual creditors · Page: 9 · As of: as of the Pre-Filing Report (September 10, 2026) · Basis: Liabilities summary reported by the Private Receiver based on Debtors' books and records · Debtor: Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd. · Creditor: Priority Creditors (aggregate as reported)
PDF
Book of Authorities of the Applicant dated September 8, 2026.pdfPDF
Confirmation of Motion dated September 8, 2026.pdf
  • Counsel Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP
PDF
Factum of the Applicant dated September 8, 2026.pdf
  • Counsel Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP
PDF
Application Record dated August 14, 2026.pdfPDF
Notice of Application dated August 5, 2026.pdf
  • Applicant Kevin Drexler Holdings Inc.
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 6 August 2026
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Drexler Construction Limited and Down Under Pipe and Cable Locating Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/drexler-construction-limited-and-down-under-pipe-and-cable-locating-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 17 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/drexler-construction-limited-and-down-under-pipe-and-cable-locating-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.

Drexler Construction Limited et al. — Receivership | Proceedings.